Sh-Sh-Sh-Sharpton and the Don

10 04 2007

Sweet Elton John reference in the title if I may say so… After reading my friend’s blog, I decided to post my own addition to the blogging world, and share the above video. Did you watch the whole video? Yes? No? Either way, I’m sure you’ve heard or read about Don Imus’ remarks when he was talking about the Women’s NCAA Championship Game (More specifically, the Rutgers University Women’s team).

I’ll share my own input, but I’ll start by showing you an excerpt from a George Carlin show. The following words were spoken during one of Carlin’s most memorable performances (which can be heard on his “Parental Advisory Explicit Lyrics CD) during a bit he calls “They’re Only Words”.

[ Note: The Following is an excerpt from a **George Carlin** show. If the use of some of the following words offend you, please read another blog, or turn on American Idol ]

“There’s a different group to get pissed off at you in this country for everything your not supposed to say. Can’t say Nigger, Boogie, Jig, Jigaboo, Skinhead, Moolimoolinyon, Schvatzit, Junglebunny. Greaser, Greaseball, Dago, Guinea, Whop, Ginzo, Kike, Zebe, Heed, Yid, Mocky, Himie, Mick, Donkey, Turkey, Limey, Frog. Zip, Zipperhead, Squarehead, Crout, Hiney, Jerry, Hun, Slope, Slopehead, Chink, Gook. There is absolutely nothing wrong with any of those words in and of themselves. Their only words. It’s the context that counts. It’s the user. It’s the intention behind the words that makes them good or bad. The words are completely neutral. The words are innocent. I get tired of people talking about bad words and bad language. Bullshit! It’s the context that makes them good or bad. The context. That makes them good or bad. For instance, you take the word “Nigger.” There is absolutely nothing wrong with the word “Nigger” in and of itself. It’s the racist asshole who’s using it that you ought to be concerned about. We don’t mind when Richard Pryer or Eddie Murphy say it. Why? Because we know their not racist. Their Niggers! Context. Context. We don’t mind their context because we know their black. Hey, I know I’m whitey, the blue-eyed devil, paddy-o, fay gray boy, honkey, mother-fucker myself. Don’t bother my ass. Their only words. You can’t be afraid of words that speak the truth, even if it’s an unpleasant truth, like the fact that there’s a bigot and a racist in every living room on every street corner in this country.”

[ If you’ve heard or seen this part of that show, then you’ll remember the incredible applause he received after he finished this part of his show ]

Now, here comes my take on all of this, and I’ll even do it without making any mention of Al Sharpton or Don Imus (Whoops, I already did, so forget that challenge).

– Do I think it’s okay that Imus said what he said? I’m a little mixed. If it were Satellite Radio, he could say whatever the heck he wanted to, just like Howard Stern… But FM Radio is a different territory than Satellite Radio. Public Domain is a touchy subject, right?

– Do I agree with Sharpton’s suggestion of firing Don Imus, or forcing him to resign? Not one bit. I’ll agree to that when every person in the world who has denounced the Holocaust is thrown into a maximum security prison.

– Do I agree with the 2 week suspension of Don Imus? Yes. it was something that had to be done… but I also feel he should stop apologizing. He’s apologized enough. He should apologize one last time, tell everyone it was a joke on his show (that makes fun of everyone anyway), and move on.

It’s not like we’re asking George Washington to return from the dead to apologize for Slavery during the birth of our great nation. Wait… it is? Make sure he brings Adolf Hitler with him too. I want a written apology for the extermination of my relatives… Oh yeah, have him title the letter, “Mein Apology”.

Peter Griffin, give me some consistency…. and my Daily Moment of Zen… please?

That’s better… Mexican and Jews in the same clip. It makes me proud to be both! But hey, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad…

Actions

Information

8 responses

10 04 2007
trybecca

George Washington returning from the dead…now that’s a Second Coming.

10 04 2007
marcys

Your blog rocks! The Mexican/Jewish cartoon made me laugh out loud (which I am allowed to do as a member of the tribe). And my son’s going to flip out when he sees all your Mets stuff!

10 04 2007
Summerbutterfly

As a woman, the mysoginistic undertones bothered me a lot. Do I think he needs to be fired? Meh. What good will it do? He’ll be an asshole with or without a job, so really, what does firing him prove? That we’re calling him out on being an asshole? So what? He’s not gonna change. But if we ignore him, maybe he’ll go away.

Concept, huh?

10 04 2007
YeahToast

I just had this discussion about this with a friend of mind. He asked me the loaded question, “How do you define racism,” and it went into a deep and meaningful conversation. If there is a positive out of this situation is that it gets people to talk about these things, talk about words and how they affect people. Was I personally offended at what he said? Hell, yeah. Did I think he was a racist? Hell, yeah. I’m also an African-American woman that can’t take these words lightly, and it’s that context that I can’t take it lightly. I’ll be honest and say do we need to call for his firing, not really. If he was fired, I wouldn’t be mad. I might even do a little dance, but I’m mean like that.

10 04 2007
Miss Pissy

What I would do to don . . .
*Pulls down pants, flashes right butt cheek* “Apologize.” =P

I’m also glad that you’re a Jew Mexican. Now we can be Jew Mexicans together!

Why is everyone making a big deal out of this? I mean, the show that Don is on makes fun of everybody. What’s the fucking problem?

I honestly don’t think that the girls had a problem with it from what I saw.

I don’t know. I think the whole world is flippin’ racist! Just do what I do. DEAL WITH IT!!!! If you don’t, then you can just move you in denial racist bootys off of this planet and go find another one to mess up and claim that you had nothing to do with it.

Well, that’s just my opinion.

16 04 2007
Gedaliah "Matt" Aronson

G-d is one, therefore the earth and all therein are one. From the tiniest “finite” thing in creation to every member of humanity. Our differences are meant to be there, as Unity is only necessary when needing to unite seemingly “different” things. In the core of every soul, from all of the kingdoms of creation including still life (the inanimate), Plant life, Animal Life, and human life, is a “piece” of the infinite G-d. “On the outside the bodies are different, but the souls are all one”

4 05 2007
And Don Imus Got Fired? « J Soul

[…] of this post from a comment left on a YouTube video that I’m about to post for you. I had an Imus/Sharpton post on here during the whole Rutgers meltdown. But after seeing this video, I’m left speechless. […]

6 07 2007
PTBartman

Nice Job dude. You get it. http://www.supportimus.com

Leave a Reply

