Top 10 Awesomely Lame Music Videos: Boy Bands

16 04 2007

 

My sister, the pop/boy band junkie, has inspired me with her most recent blog post. Therefore, I’ve decided to initiate a new tradition here on the blog: The Top 10 Awesomely Lame Music Videos. Today’s victim? Boy Bands! from New Kids on the Block to *NSYNC, my sister and I have compiled the best of the worst, along with some expert analysis from both of us. So, without further adieu, I give you the Top 10 Awesomely Lame Boy Band Music Videos!


#10: No Mercy – Where Do You Go

Menudo made a comeback? Oh wait… they’re still around, aren’t they… Unfortunately, the Beach/Girls/Party combination wasn’t enough to save this catchy video’s song from making the back-end of this list.


#9: 98 Degrees – The Hardest Thing

Rule #12 in the book of how to pick up a Las Vegas Showgirl: Become a Boxer, get beaten… badly, get girl (in that exact order)


#8: B2K – Uh Huh

Uh… huh…


#7: LFO – Summer Girls

Instead of getting my “Abercrombie & Fitch” catalog in the mail, I get it on my TV screen! I would’ve put this video in the Top 5, but it was lacking that… how do you say… nevermind, it was lacking…


#6: Five – When The Lights Go Out (UK Version)

Somebody turn the lights back on! For the love of god, turn them on!


#5: New Kids on the Block – Please Don’t Go Girl

Concept? Anyone? is that Brooklyn I see? Does anyone actually call them N.K.O.T.B.?


#4: 2Gether – U + Me = Us (Calculus)

Did you see Kevin Farley? Did you? It’s Kevin Farley!!! This incredible mock up of a Boy Band was just enough to inch past the New Kids


#3: O-Town – Liquid Dreams

Whoever gave these guys the right to perform a song about “Liquid Dreams” gave hope to all “Liquid Dreamers” across the globe! Dream on with your bad selves!


#2: Backstreet Boys – Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)

Haunted House, Scary Mansion, or whatever you wanna call it… It all seems so familiar.. almost, Disney? or was it… Scooby Doo? As concept-less as this video seems, it wasn’t quite good enough to crack the #1 spot. (Note: Mummies are not Sexy, okay Nick?)


#1: *NSYNC – Here We Go
Girls… Parties… Basketball!? Did High School Musical come out with a Prequel? Unless I see Kobe Bryant, Carmelo Anthony, and LeBron James slam dunking to the music, I just don’t see the connection… at all! Congratulations *NSYNC, you’ve made the #1 Awesomely Lame Boy Band Music Video!

And now… the consolation prize (and my Daily Moment of Zen) goes to…


Bell Biv DeVoe – Poison

I’m officially speechless…

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 04 2007
Evil Little Sister

You know, without me, you only would have had NKOTB, 2Gether, & Backstreet Boys. It’s a good thing I was once a teenie bopper, huh? =P Oh, and on the Bell Biv DeVoe video . . . Can we say, green screen it? Come on everyone, say it with me now. “Green screen it.” at one point, it looked like they were dancing on a girls foot. No wonder they can’t get no play! I can’t stop watching *NSYNC’s video for “Here We Go”. I still think it’s funny how you didn’t know it existed. I don’t care if they have the suckiest video, they still rule! and JC makes me giggle. =) *giggle*

17 04 2007
Summerbutterfly

Excellent list. I approve. I really *hate* that LFO song. Could there be worse lyrics??? I don’t think I’ve ever sat through the entire video for that reason.

*tries again*

Yeah, no.

And as for “Here We Go”? There are no words. It really is only very slightly worse, though, than the original I Want You Back with the nylon zip shirts, the space ship and Joey with Restless Shoulder Syndrome!

18 04 2007
trybecca

My friend Cami–the one you are “debating” on the Mayer/Simpson issue–used to make me listen to Back Street Boys in the car and identify the singer. If I said Nick and it wasn’t Nick, like if it was Joey, she’d rewind and we’d listen again until I got it right. This was painful to say the least. I’ve since graduated from he Back Street Immersion Program and consider myself proficient, if no longer fluent.

Awesome post. I also enjoyed how our boss couldn’t drum to Boy Band beats.

Leave a Reply

