Terry Got Trolled

2 06 2011

What’s that, Terry?… Angry? Upset? Confused? You shouldn’t be. Nobody around the organization should be. Why? Because your team is… (pause for a quick informational break)

The Mets are clearly okay with being super awful during or after the 7th inning, and last night’s loss to the Pirates made that perfectly clear. Although, a certain Mr. Terry Collins doesn’t seem to be on board with the whole “Hey guys! Let’s just play Single-A ball now. I gotta get home in time for storytime” thing. As a matter of fact, he shouldn’t be on board with that, and I’m glad he isn’t. But last night’s ‘rant’ to reporters after the game struck an odd chord. It was a lot of the same story, and I’d like to break down some of the “Oh No You Di’int!” points:

“I’m running out of ideas here”

Oh boy… um… Terry… Don’t ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever say that. /nails the coffin shut

“I’m ringing the rag dry, coming in here, having to look at you guys looking at me like I’m a stinking fool”

Ammunition for the trolls… I mean… Awesome Sports Writers of New York City!

“We just can’t continue to make foolish mistakes. They’re big-league players. They should be able to do it.

I don’t know, Terry… I see a lot of Bison on that field… /grabs a fork and knife

These are just some of the “things you probably shouldn’t tell a reporter” things, but I happen to agree with a lot of what Terry says in his post-game rant. Baseball is a team game, and if the team can’t play together, you don’t win. If you’re given the chance to play at the major league level, then you’d better play like you belong. I get it. I agree with it. What I don’t agree with, however, is his sudden notion to not to not point fingers at certain players at all. When Daniel Murphy makes a few fundamentally awkward plays that end up costing the team a few runs, you point that out. When your outfielders misjudge a fairly simple fly ball to have it bounce off of their glove, you point that out. But why keep that ‘in the clubhouse”? Why is it such a bad thing to say exactly what it is that fans think about those players? Why the coddling? These guys make far too much money to have to worry about getting their feelings hurt. They’re paid to play a game and be successful at it, not throw a tantrum over how they had their feelings hurt. By all means, call them out. Don’t let their mistakes go.

(end of informational break)

…. in transition and not currently built to win! /pulls up in a Wahmbulance


Actions

Information

Leave a comment